Vyvanse

By B. Wilde November 18, 2010 1,939 9

Lisdexamfetamine (the active ingredient of Vyvanse) is changed in the body to another chemical, dextroamphetamine. Dextroamphetamine is a stimulant, although it has effects that are opposite from what would be expected of a stimulant. While stimulants (like caffeine) can cause hyperactivity, Vyvanse (when used in the appropriate dosages) has a calming effect. While the exact way the medication produces a calming effect is not known, it is known to affect chemicals in the brain.

  • Report as inappropriate
  • Track
  • Share
    Email
    Print Twitter
    Facebook

Reviews (8 reviews)

Add your review
gapeach65
gapeach65 July 28, 2012 at 10:04 am   
I like this Report as inappropriate

My 14 year old son and I both take Vyvanse, I was diagnosed a little over a year ago, and it's been a blessing for myself and for my son for me to take it. I have been able to better educate myself on ADHD to help him. He was diagnosed at 3 yrs old and has been on many meds, stimulant and not, Vyvanse has worked the best by far and for the longest without needing to even change his dose.

Joann1234
Joann1234 July 27, 2012 at 4:25 pm   
I like this Report as inappropriate

My 7 year old son takes this med. He has been on this for over a year and it really works better than any other meds he has been on. He never had any side effects from it. It even helped him consentrate more on the important things like school work.

FondaADD
FondaADD December 24, 2011 at 6:40 pm   
I like this Report as inappropriate

I have been on Vyvanse for my ADD for 3 weeks now and I like it so far. Since it is a stimulant it has replaced my need for Modafanil for Idiopathic Hypersomnia. The dry mouth is not as bad as Modafanil so my neurologist and psychiatrist allows it to kills two birds with one stone. It has suppressed my appetite a bit but my doctor weighs me everytime I go to monitor its effects on my weight. I eat because I know that I need to not because I want to eat. I like it because it is long acting

saber32
saber32 October 13, 2011 at 3:00 am   
I like this Report as inappropriate

reaction to this medication i got taking off of this med

saber32
saber32 October 10, 2011 at 4:21 pm   
I like this Report as inappropriate

my brother has taking this pill

saber32
saber32 October 9, 2011 at 11:28 pm   
I like this Report as inappropriate

great job

billfix
billfix September 18, 2011 at 1:59 pm   
I like this Report as inappropriate

You are right on with your preview. I have tried others but, Vyvanse seems to really work well.

B. Wilde
B. Wilde November 18, 2010 at 3:57 pm   
I like this Report as inappropriate
Pros

Vyvanse, unlike other stimulants, has to go through the stomach and be digested before it can become active. That means it's much less likely that Vyvanse will be abused, since it can't be snorted, etc., like other ADHD medicines.
Another potential benefit of Vyvanse is that it lasts a full 12 hours, whereas other long-acting ADHD medicines tend to last 10 to 12 hours.

Cons

Side effects of Vyvanse are similar to other ADHD stimulants and most commonly include abdominal pain, vomiting, weight loss, decreased appetite, headaches, insomnia, and irritability.
Interestingly, side effects — especially appetite suppression — seem to quickly decrease over time.